June 3, 2021

Campus Pride and PFLAG National will spotlight 18 colleges and universities across the country at Lavender Graduation 2021, a commencement ceremony to celebrate and honor LGBTQ+ college graduates.

National Lavender Graduation 2021 is a Live Virtual Commencement Ceremony Sat. June 5, Noon PST/3pm EST Login: CampusPride.org/2021

This year’s Lavender Graduation, the second such event to be conducted virtually, will be held Saturday, June 5. The free event will be live-streamed at www.CampusPride.org/2021, on Campus Pride social media channels, and on PFLAG National’s Facebook page. The event includes ASL interpretation. For captions and translation, please view the streams on Facebook.

Faculty, administrators, and alumni from each of the 18 represented campuses will offer inspiring words to the Class of 2021, and student representatives will reflect on their campus experience and Campus Pride’s mission to make colleges and universities safer and more welcoming for LGBTQ people. PFLAG National Board Member Aruna Rao will also provide remarks, sharing the love, pride and cheers that all PFLAGers share with this incredible Class of 2021.

This year’s honorees, representing every region in the U.S., include:
University of Alabama Huntsville, AL
Florida A&M University, FL
University of North Florida, FL
University of Hawaii at Manoa, HI
Indiana University Bloomington, IN
Purdue University, IN
Western Kentucky University, KY
University of Missouri-Columbia, MO
William Patterson University, NJ
Kenyon College, OH
Ohio State University, OH
Pacific University, OR
University of Pennsylvania, PA
Rhodes College, TN
University of Texas at Dallas, TX
Old Dominion University, VA
Virginia Tech, VA
Eastern Washington University, WA

“Campus Pride offers congratulations and support to this year’s graduating class of LGBTQ leaders, who embody our values of inclusion on campus and advocacy for social justice,” said Shane Windmeyer, Campus Pride Executive Director. “I’m inspired by the work these young people are doing to take the activism skills they learn through programs like Camp Pride, our internships, and our leadership trainings, and put them into practice on their own campuses, for the betterment of their entire community.”

Lavender Graduation aims to celebrate the achievements of LGBTQ+ and ally college students upon their graduation who may not be able to participate in in-person commencement ceremonies at their own schools due to COVID-19 precautions, and to show these students that they have a community of support moving into the next chapter of their lives.

HOW TO WATCH LAVENDER GRADUATION 2021

DATE: Saturday, June 5, 2021

TIME: 3 p.m. Eastern / 2 p.m. Central / 1 p.m. Mountain / 12 p.m. Pacific

WHERE: Streaming live on the Campus Pride website (www.CampusPride.org/2021)
And Campus Pride on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/LeadwithPRIDE)
Plus PFLAG National on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/PFLAG)

###

 

2028642247
press