June 17, 2021

WASHINGTON—Today, the U.S. Supreme Court issued their decision in “Fulton vs. City of Philadelphia.” The decision is a very narrow ruling, essentially stating that governments cannot have exceptions in their nondiscrimination laws, and because of that, the City of Philadelphia's nondiscrimination law cannot be enforced in this instance. However, the court did not invalidate nondiscrimination laws, did not give religious organizations a broad license to discriminate, nor did the court say that governments must contract with organizations that discriminate. 

Brian K. Bond, Executive Director of PFLAG National released the following statement:

“Youth in foster care have the right to stability and to be placed with families that support and affirm them for who they are — inclusive of their sexual orientation and gender identity. Today’s Supreme Court ruling affirms that discrimination by government contractors is not permitted, and foster youth and their families are protected by nondiscrimination laws. PFLAG National stands with the former and current foster youth, foster caregivers who are LGBTQ+, and found families everywhere as we continue to fight for the rights of LGBTQ+ people to secure full equality. The Senate must pass the Equality Act now to protect the rights of youth, families, and LGBTQ+ people everywhere.” 

###

LEARN MORE
Decision Day: Fulton Virtual Rally
: June 17, 2021 at 7pm ET / 6pm CT / 5pm MT /4pm PT with information, analysis, and Q&A. RSVP at DecisionDay.org.

ABOUT PFLAG NATIONAL
PFLAG is the first and largest organization for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ+) people, their parents and families, and allies. With over 400 chapters and nearly 250,000 members and supporters crossing multiple generations of families in major urban centers, small cities, and rural areas across America, PFLAG is committed to creating a world where diversity is celebrated and all people are respected, valued, and affirmed. To learn more, visit pflag.org, like us on Facebook (/pflag), watch us on YouTube (/pflag), or follow us on Twitter (@pflag) or Instagram (@pflag).

 

Laura McGinnis, Media Relations Manager
202-725-7571
press